The Story on My Windowsill

IMG_7912

Everything has a story to tell.  This is how part of my windowsill looked today. Everything in this photograph contains part of the story of my druidry. Let me tell you a little something of each item on there.

On the far left is an orchid I bought my ex as a gift once. I’ve had it since. I’m not great with plants. It hasn’t flowered since it lost the first bloom it came with.  Next over is a drinking horn I bought, years ago, on the Isle of Mull.  I’ve used it in many ceremonies. I like to think of it as a piece of my personal tribal heritage. Everyone who has drunk out of it is connected in ceremony. It has contained wine, and mead, but as my ceremonies often have children and people who don’t drink alcohol (including me) mostly it now holds apple juice or elderflower cordial.

In the centre of the picture is a singing bowl I bought when I lived in Edinburgh. I don’t play it very often but I find it beautiful and I often use it as an altar bowl, containing water or offerings.  The script around the outside is the Sanskrit ‘om mani padme hum’ – the jewel in the lotus.  Today it has a piece of yew, some mistletoe, and a daffodil, in it.  Those items were on my altar until yesterday.  The yew is from a Samhain ceremony I took part in in Kilkenny last November. The mistletoe came from Glastonbury when I was there in December for the Winter Assembly of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids. The daffodil was a gift from the Imbolc ceremony friends and I held in my living room.

At the back, is a piece of glass art that I’ve had for a few years now. I bought it in Dingle, Co. Kerry, Ireland. I love the image of sun, sea, and standing stone. Even in the middle of a city, in the depths of a rainy winter, it reminds me of the beauty of the natural world, and the wisdom of the ancestors.

In front of that, is a tea light holder I bought many years ago in Kinsale, Co. Cork. It has crescent moons all around it. I rarely use it, but I like having it because of the moon imagery. To the right of that is a stone with the words “Is draoí mé” etched into it. That was made by my friend Michael, here in Galway. It reminds me of a simple fact. It says “I am a druid”.

Inside the singing bowl, is a bauble that I received as a gift at our winter solstice ceremony. It represents a quality gifted for this solar year. The gift is “wonderment”.

IMG_7913

Was there something in this post that resonated with you? Please share it. Did you see something I missed? Please let me know. I really value feedback and connections. Start typing below.

