Thank You

Day 100 of #100Daychallenge

I know we don’t always have the deepest of chats, but we seem to see each other. I’m glad of that. I’m glad I don’t fear you. Heck, I’m really proud of you.

Lately, when I look at you, I see myself. Which is an odd way of looking at our relationship. I see me in you: your obsessive nature, your quietness, the way you go deep inside yourself for days when you’re worried.

I used to hide myself from you, for fear that you’d be angry or offended. I don’t force my life on you. I know that a lot of what I do is strange and alien to you. And that’s fine. That really is fine. I don’t need you to support everything in my life. I know you love me. I know you’re proud of me too. And that really is enough.

Thanks Dad.

cropped-img_06921.jpg

5 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. It’s tough to accept our parents as people and some of us never actually do it but if we can it adds a freeness to both us and them. Congrats on the challenge and thanks for the advice on visiting Dublin. We are there now and truly loving the city.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, please share them with me.

