Quote

If You Leave

Day 75 of #100Daychallenge

IMG_6673

I feel like I’m always arriving, always leaving. I have lived in several places. I move every four or five years. Leaving has become normal for me, So has the process of making friends, finding my feet in a new city/town. There are advantages and disadvantages, pleasures and pains.

The pain is saying goodbye. The pain is knowing that my life in one place has ended. The pain is arriving in new places and feeling lonely. The pain is never really feeling a sense of belonging. The pain is always feeling like I’m missing the back story. The pain is never really being at home anywhere.

The pleasure is the sense of adventure, the newness, all the time. I enjoy living my life as if there is always more to be discovered. I am the perpetual tourist in my home town, because I am usually new to it. It feels great to know people in many places. I am at home wherever my friends are. I am always creating my life.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “If You Leave.”

2 thoughts on “If You Leave

  1. Hi Thinkingbarefoot,
    I read your post and thought about my Hubby, Blueberry.
    My hubby’s father was from the navy.. and he shared with me they move pretty often, when he was a kid. The process of moving and re-adapting is tough. Sending big hugs your way.

  2. You are remembered by many more people than the standard list of them, one way to look at it.

    Although I do get the outsider feeling, had to move every three years when I was a kid, luckily (or unluckily) living in the same place for over a decade. It feels stagnating sometimes, same old thing, same place. I used to wish for stability when I was younger, now I just want to experience life,places.

Was there something in this post that resonated with you? Please share it. Did you see something I missed? Please let me know. I really value feedback and connections. Start typing below.

