Who’s The Boss?

Day 66 of #100Daychallenge

Have you ever been to an event where you thought “someone needs to take charge here”. I have. It’s horrible. I had a quick but enjoyable conversation today about the importance of space holding. Being in well held space feels safe, welcoming, intentional and clear. Badly held space feels messy, and unfocused.

When I hold space, be it at Toastmasters or in Druid circles or even at house parties, I know that I’m in charge. I know that it’s ultimately my responsibility to make sure the space is inviting, and safe. From the tone of the event to preventing inappropriate behaviour to ensure people feel included, requires boundaries. Maintaining those boundaries takes effort and clarity.  

Being in charge is a role, and ideally it’s one that should be held by different people at different times and everyone should know who is holding it. When I host ceremony in my house, I am clear that I am the host. To an extent, what I say goes. When I go to other people’s events I do not presume to hold any authority other than over my own experience and truth.

Next time you go to a party, notice who’s in charge, and see how that simple awareness changes things for you.  

  

Was there something in this post that resonated with you? Please share it. Did you see something I missed? Please let me know. I really value feedback and connections. Start typing below.

