Guard of Honour

Day 56 of #100Daychallenge

  
For almost four hours, people came through the front door, and into the room where you rest. They shake my cousins’ hands. They say “I’m sorry for your loss”. There’s nothing else to say. They hug my aunt and then shake the hands of a long line of people who are your blood. I am not. I am connected by marriage. It makes a difference. And yet, I am family and I am present for the prayers when it is only family present.  

You leave and we follow. Your sons carry you to the waiting car. The road has been closed. A police officer redirects traffic. We step onto the road, following you, and your wife and sons. A long straight line of men and woman walk on either side. Each one wears a black arm band. This is a guard of honour. It’s a powerful sight, a powerful feeling of being held. I take my sister’s arm and tears come. 

Was there something in this post that resonated with you? Please share it. Did you see something I missed? Please let me know. I really value feedback and connections. Start typing below.

