Guided Tours of Here

Day 54 of #100Daychallenge

IMG_5188

I like to give guided tours of the city I live in. A man “woofed” at me today, on Scruff. He seemed a nice guy from his profile. We exchanged a few messages whilst I had tea and he had lunch. I offered to take him for a walk around town for an hour and show him the parts of Galway I like. I really enjoyed it. I used to host on Couchsurfing and Airbnb. I’m used to meeting new people, used to showing them the city through my eyes. I tell them history, take them to my favourite churches, point out where I used to live, where I go for walks, the views I love. And on the way, we talk. I learn about them, their home, and their questions. I am as much a part of the tour as the river or the cathedral. I enjoy the same when I travel. I remember the people I met and the cities I visit come alive because they live in them.

One thought on “Guided Tours of Here

I'd love to hear your feedback, here or over at patreon.com/cosnochta

