Summer Solstice 2010

Day 53 of #100Daychallenge
Do you remember the Summer Solstice ritual you designed? You told us about it over Skype because you were too ill to drive all the way to Edinburgh. You had drawn pictures to illustrate it and it was very you. 

You taught me a lot about what was possible. 

For the ceremony, seven of us gathered on the beach. It was sunny and hot, very hot by East Lothian standards. I had a sun symbol painted on my arm in body paint. I sunburned and the result was interesting. 

  
We divvied up the roles. I led the opening and closing. By that time I was learning to enjoy MCing our ceremonies. You had created a series of gestures to embody the elements and we used them to call the quarters. 

You taught me that bodies speak louder than words. 

For the central part of the rite, we lit flaming torches. We faced outwards and passed the torches in a flowing circle of fire around us. It was both terrifying and exhilarating. 

You taught me that ritual should be bold, brave and simple. 

I'd love to hear your feedback, here or over at patreon.com/cosnochta

