We’ll Go For a Walk

Day 44 of #100Daychallenge

IMG_3546

We’ll go for a walk together, maybe along a seashore, maybe over a grassy headland. We’ll talk about the world around us but also the state of our hearts. We’ll be catching up, sharing our stories. We’ll occassionally catch each other’s gaze, and we’ll get stuck in it a little too long, unable to speak, unable to look away. There’ll be an awkward silence. I’ll comment on the clouds and assess the chance of rain. And being Irish, we’ll both agree that at least it’s not raining and we’re lucky to have good weather.

As we walk side by side, my hand will accidentally touch yours and I’ll wonder if you noticed it too. I’ll wonder if you made it happen on purpose. I’ll wonder if you want it to happen again.

I’ll loose my train of thought.

We’ll sit side by side on the grass and look out at the sea. I’ll look at you to make a point and your eyes will be open and looking deeply into mine. I’ll look away and quickly look back. There will be silence. I’ll smile. You’ll smile. I’ll take a deep breath. It’ll feel intense, awkward, and wonderful. You’ll lean your head towards mine. Our lips will touch for the first time. We’ll kiss briefly and then return to looking at the waves. I’ll get a little bolder and I’ll put my arm around your shoulders. We’ll sit like that for a moment and then I’ll turn to face you. I’ll put my hand on the side of your face as I lean in to kiss you, this time with an intensity and a hunger that’s been building for years.

3 thoughts on “We’ll Go For a Walk

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, please share them with me.

