Leave Your Phone at Home

Day 43 of #100Daychallenge

78102-iphone

I love my iPhone. It’s not the latest model but I own it, it’s mine, and it does all I need it to do. I stream music on it. I read my saved Instapaper articles. I listen to podcasts. I blog. I email. I text. I chat on gay apps. I use Facebook. I upload my photos to Google. I take photos. I journal. I update and tweak my calendar events for months ahead. I write reminder lists. I listen to podcasts. I even use a tarot app when I’m looking for some inspiration or guidance on the trot. All of this is wonderful.

And all of this is busy, so very busy.

I routinely put my phone or airplane mode, much to the annoyance of people who try to call me. I always have it on airplane mode when I should be sleeping. Although, I should be sleeping long before I go offline most nights. Yesterday, I went for a walk in the morning to do some meditation and I left my phone at home. This morning, I walked to the shop, and I left my phone at home. And it was sweet. There was peace. I could hear my own thoughts. I spoke again to the world around me.

I want stillness like that more often. I want to settle my mind more often. And a part of that will be doing the unthinkable, turning my phone off and leaving it at home.

One thought on “Leave Your Phone at Home

  1. As someone who takes their phone with them but buries it so deeply in their bag I can concur that not always being at the end of it if someone phones is a pleasure beyond all others 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, please share them with me.

