Reclaiming Ceremony

Day 22 of #100Daychallenge

  
Pagan spirituality, for me, is largely about reclaiming my own spiritual authority. From my Druid practice and study, I have learned the power and value of creating personal ritual to mark moments of transition in my life. Within sacred space, and witnessed by tribe , world, and divine, I make my ceremony. 

Everyone has been to the common societal ceremonies of baby namings, coming of age, marriage, and funerals. But personal ceremonies are for all sorts of reasons. When a relationship ended last year, I had ceremony with friends to commit myself to a fuller life of health and personal happiness. Yesterday, I had a ceremony with a friend, honouring our relationship. 

This summer, I finished a job and I had a ceremony with my close friends to mark that ending. I had my friend cut my work uniform off of me. I then went into the sea. When I came out, I dressed entirely in new clothes. I told a pagan woman about it last week. She was delighted with the format, telling me that I had reclaimed babtism. And claiming personal spiritual authority, honouring life and relationship, is what real ceremony and living ritual is all about for me. 

2 thoughts on “Reclaiming Ceremony

  1. This is a wonderful and simple ritual, and being in the process of transitioning my work as well, I really like its visualization and power. In many ways, this does not have to be a pagan spiritual practice at all; many traditions have elements of the off with the old, cleansing, and on with the new.

    Never seen it done like this, and quite powerful.

I'd love to hear your feedback, here or over at patreon.com/cosnochta

