Walking in Memory

Day 15 of #100Daychallenge

  
Tonight I went on an historical walk of Sunday’s Well in Cork city. I went with my cousin. She grew up in the city. The guide told us about the development of the city in that area over the last three hundred years and showed us maps and so on. I enjoyed the tour but the best was yet to come. 

My cousin took me on a walk by the university which is where she grew up. She pointed out the shops and talked about her childhood experiences. I went to the university several decades later. The buildings I knew as department offices, she knew as homes. When I went to college, all that history was invisible to me. History is all around us. 

I’m really grateful to have learned more about this city and more about my family too. I’m also grateful for the experience of walking and talking with my cousin. When did you last tell someone about your history? When did you last walk a street you once lived on, remembering it how it once was?

I'd love to hear your feedback, here or over at patreon.com/cosnochta

