Fluxx

Day 9 of #100Daychallenge

 
This  weekend I am visiting a friend’s family. There are children here so I brought my copy of Fluxx. It’s a simple card game. It’s simple but it’s also extremely chaotic. It is simple to learn, and fun, but it requires a bit of focus to play. It’s a game for two to six players. Each player gets three cards to begin with. The Basic Rules card sits face up on the table. The basic rule and order of play is ‘draw one, play one’. That’s where the simplicity ends. What is genius, though, is that the instructions of what to do with every card are written on it. The aim of the game is to achieve the goal written on the goal card when it is played. The fun part is that the goal keeps changing and the rules of play are constantly being modified. Strategy is almost impossible and the best way to learn the game, is in play. 

I like games. They teach us a lot. And they help us to have fun. 

Games are great for easing social settings. I often find it awkward to connect with a group of people. Hosting a games night really helps. 

I’d like to play more games. I have friends who regularly play adult board games. It’s something I’d like to explore. For now, I’m going to go back to the family dinner table and have another few games of Fluxx. 

2 thoughts on “Fluxx

  1. I also love playing board and card games, though do not often allow myself the time to play. Thanks for raising this as a valuable thing to consider.

    BTW, never seen Fluxx. Will check it out.

  2. Another board and card games enthusiast here. I recently joined a board game MeetUp group and am looking forward to my first one. I always feel more at ease at social events which are based around an activity. So long as it’s an activity I’m halfway competent at anyway!

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, please share them with me.

