The Dance of Venus

  
Day 7 of #100Daychallenge
This Summer, I went to Druid camp in the south west of England. One of my favourite events of the camp was an evening dancing with the planets. We had a 5Rhythms teacher on site and inside the main marquee she led us on a journey meeting the movement style and energy of each of the astrological planets of our solar system. We started with the moon and journeyed through Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, before finally dancing with the Sun and then Earth. It was quite lovely. Having a basic understanding of the magical qualities of each planet, and a lot of experience in 5Rhythms (although it wasn’t 5R), really helped. My favourite part of the dance was Venus as a partner dance. We danced Venus, Venus with Venus, and then Venus with Mars. We swapped roles so we could both experience the contrast of the two. I enjoyed the bravado of Mars, the willingness to cross boundaries, to take things too far. But then, I LOVED dancing Venus: the power of beauty and attraction, of self confident abundance. I really learned a lot in that dance, about myself, and about the games we play, and ‘the chase’. I danced with two different women during the Venus phase of the dance, and that was great for me. It was momentarily challenging, thinking about seduction and attraction with women. The difficulty wasn’t being Mars. It was the vulnerability I sometimes feel around female attraction to me. Often, in the past, I would have felt awkward and weird, but in this dance I learned to relax and enjoy the dynamic, the playful energy of it, and the strength in people meeting each other’s edge. 

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, please share them with me.

