Perfect Napping

Since my early 20s sleep has been a delicate friend. It takes me a long time to fall asleep and I awaken easily. Even looking at me seems to wake me up. I am especially aware of how light a sleeper I am when I am listening to my partner snoring beside me. Even more so, because it takes him 10 seconds or less to drop off.

My mother says I slept a lot as a teenager. I do remember getting up around noon. Now, waking up at 8.30 is a late lie in for me. To compensate, I have learned to love (and need) naps. Back in my clubbing days, ‘disco naps’ were essential before going out. If I have a night out now (no alcohol, of course), I’ll need a nap the following day to recover.

People often say to me that they couldn’t possibly sleep at night if they’ve had a nap during the day. I find the opposite to be true. I can’t sleep at night if I’m too tired. I’m sure there’s a hormonal reason for that but I don’t know the science.

I nap a little most days. An hour of “down time” does me the world of good. If I’m really lucky, 30 minutes of that will be sleep. I find it almost impossible to sleep in an environment other than my own bed. I have to create the right conditions for sleep. Most of these practices serve to make me feel safe and to remove distractions.

My steps to create my perfect napping experience:
– Turn my phone on to airplane mode.
– Meditate beforehand for a few minutes or even longer.
– Undress: sleeping in clothes is rarely comfortable.
– Pray. I do a lot of this.
– If I need to be somewhere later, I set an alarm on my phone. This is really just to help me relax , knowing that I’ll not oversleep. I almost never have to rely on it.
– Listen to music or a relaxation meditation. Often, I listen to track 3 of the album Sacred Nature by Philip Carr-Gomm. I think music or voice helps by giving me something to focus on.
– Wear my Mindfold mask. A Druid friend told me about this a few years ago when I explained how nourishing darkness was for me.
– Relax and reassure myself that even if I remain conscious, my nap time will be a healing time.

I know some of my friends are insomniacs and ‘delicate sleepers’ too. Do you nap? How do you go about it?

One thought on “Perfect Napping

  1. When I rest, either during the day or at night, it is often when my mind gets active, at night sleep is a tricky friend to find. That said there are other issues there for me, when I was hurt back in 1990, coming around lying in the dark and everything else that followed remains I think the crux of the matter. During the day, likewise I lie down and more often than not think about my writing, or the event I am supposed to be working towards, and even though it is bright and the world outside is busy and loud i can often ‘pass out’ within a few short minutes and take an hour of rest. So the combo of darkness, an active mind and history affect my night sleep but less so my naps.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, please share them with me.

