Supporting Habit Change with Lift App

Habit change and the science of changing our behaviours for the better are big business. I have read a lot of books about changing habits, supporting good ones, and letting go of bad ones. I know the theory but often my resolutions to be better are less than successful. A tool I find to be very useful is Lift. I use the Lift app on my iphone. I have had an account for a year or so but I’ve only really gotten into it properly in the last two months. I love it.

Lift works as a support in developing good habits.

Lift goals can be anything. I have tried and tested different sets of goals and at present there are a few on there. For myself, I have discovered that it works best if the goals I set are S.M.A.R.T. I regularly play about with the goals I have one there. Some fall by the wayside as unachievable right now. Rather than berating myself for ‘failing’ I readjust my sigts or the nature of the goal itself. For example, I had one for a week that said “no sweets”. At present, that really isn’t working for me. I am going to try again with some specific to sugar and wheat but work with them over specific short time periods.

Lift currently offers a set of plans that you can sign up for. For example, I am taking three different exercise plans. One each for pushups, squats, and planks. It feels great being able to swipe to mark each goal as done for the day.

I also find that it works best if the goals are listed in the order that I will do them during the day. That takes a bit of rearranging but it is worth it.

Lift also works on the premise that habit change works best when done with the support of other people. Lift allows you to give ‘props’ to the people you follow as they achieve their goals each day. The app tracks your streak and congratulates you as you reach milestones. Many of the programmes or even activities you create yourself, are in 21-day cycles. 21 days feels like a reachable target.

Whilst one of the ideas behind the app is support and visibility are good things, the app also allows you to mark individual habits as private. I applaud this. I have one or two on there that I don’t need you to know about.

For each individual goal, it’s possible to scan back over the weeks and months and see all the days you achieved it. That feels really good. Rather than seeing the days I “failed”, I feel good about the days I succeeded.

I really do recommend you check it out at lift.do

Books on habit changes:

‘Making Habits, Breaking, Habits’ by Jeremy Dean

‘Awaken the Giant Within’ by Anthony Robbins

I'd love to hear your feedback, here or over at patreon.com/cosnochta

