My Five Favourite Podcasts

I subscribe to a bunch of podcasts. I listen to them when I’m travelling or walking to work. I listen to them when doing the dishes.

The podcasts I listen to are ones that I particularly enjoy. I don’t listen if I don’t like it. There are many podcasts that I have sampled and let go.

The great things about podcasts are that you can listen to them whenever you want, and the entire back catalogue of episodes is available to you too. When you discover one you like, it is very easy to go back to the start and listen right through to the present.

These are the five podcasts that I enjoy the most.

Image

In Our Time

In Our Time is a BBC Radio 4 show that broadcasts weekly for most of the year. I believe it stops for the Summer.  I have listened to In Our Time for the last four or five years. I have learned more from this programme than from any other source. Every week, the subject is something new and very different. The only exclusion they have for topics is that it can’t be something topical. So for example, the two episodes I have unlistened to on my iTunes are about:

  1. the chemistry of the water molecule and
  2. the evolutionary biologist Alfred Russell Wallace

The format of the show is the same every week. Melvyn Bragg introduces the topic and his expert panel, who are usually lecturers in U.K. Universities.  Melvyn then moves the conversation along asking his panel questions to explain and explore the topic. By the end of the programme I am usually left wanting more. The more you dive into any subject the more there is to explore in a never-ending chain of connections.

Image

The Savage Lovecast

Several years ago, a good friend asked me if I knew what GGG meant. I didn’t. I googled it and found out it was one of the sex advice phrases coined by Dan Savage. (It stands for Good, Giving, and Game).

I saw that as well as the Love Letters of the day, there was also a podcast. I can remember it was on a holiday to Benidorm (I know. I know.) that I listened to the then dozens of back episodes.

The show starts every week with Dan talking about something political in relation to relationship rights or LGBT issues. Dan is based in Seattle and the majority of the callers are from the USA.

If you have a problem with sexually explicit conversations and a multitude of swear words, this might not be the show for you..

Image

Sounds True: Insights at the Edge

I discovered Sounds True productions when I was living in Edinburgh and getting into Ken Wilber.  I found the Sounds True production Kosmic Consciousness and from there found the podcast.  I listened to it on and off over the last few years. I hadn’t listened at all until last week when I sought it out again. I listened to a few of the most recent episodes and I was really impressed. The format of the podcast is interviews with spiritual teachers and inspiring leaders. This past week I have listened to the episodes with Matthew Fox, Brene Brown and Robert Moss – all authors and speakers I admire.

My suggestion is to only listen to the episodes you feel drawn to.  There is a very diverse range of topics and interviewees. Some may be that one step too far into the “trans-rational”. Last year I heard a speaker or two that made me cringe and even this week I stopped one speaker half way through.

Check it out.

Image

The Work of Byron Katie

If you have read some of the my writing here you will know that I have a major grá for Byron Katie and her Work.

If you like audio courses, there’s a great audio introduction to BK called Your Inner Awakening.

These podcasts are live recordings of people doing The Work with Katie. They’re sometimes from webinars and sometimes from live events. Some are less than ten minutes long and some are an hour. They aren’t released regularly but they do seem to be coming more often than they used to.

I find listening to these very enlightening and up lifting. They contain a lot of humour and I am normally left smiling by the end.

Image

Druidcast – The Druid Podcast

I am a member of the Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids. It’s a big part of my life.  The Druidcast podcast is produced by Damh the Bard and are released monthly.

The shows usually contain a lot of great new pagan music and interviews with authors and contemporary pagan/druid folk in Britain and around the world.

It’s a fantastic show and one that I savour when it comes out.

2 thoughts on “My Five Favourite Podcasts

  1. All perfectly wonderful podcasts. Byron Katie has been a huge Teacher for me and the work of Ken Wilber equally revolutionary. Awesome suggestions and a good start for anyone young or old to enjoy! x

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, please share them with me.

