Faithfullness

Today’s Daily Post poses a challenging question: tell us about the role that faith plays in your life – or doesn’t.

 

I had to look up a defintion of faith.  From the dictionary on my macbook I have the following..

 

faith |feɪθ|

noun [ mass noun ]

1 complete trust or confidence in someone or something: this restores one’s faith in politicians.

2 strong belief in the doctrines of a religion, based on spiritual conviction rather than proof.

• [ count noun ] a particular religion: the Christian faith.

• [ count noun ] a strongly held belief: men with strong political faiths.

exclamationchiefly Irish

said to express surprise or emphasis: faith, I was shown the door myself and came home.

PHRASES

break (or keep ) faith be disloyal (or loyal): an attempt to make us break faith with our customers.

ORIGIN Middle English: from Old French feid, from Latin fides .

 

Now, generally when someone says ‘do you have faith’ they mean a religious faith.  Outwardly, I don’t attend a conventional religous church. I am a member of a iniatory druid order called the Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids. I have been for over a decade. I meditate most days and I find meaning in stories, dreams and my own life experiences.  I attend and help create beautiful simple rituals to mark the passage of time and our place within it. I continue to grow, knowing very little of the mystery of it all.

 

As much as I no longer identify with any particular Christian church, I can still say that I have faith of a sorts.  I trust that everything is unfolding as it will.  I don’t have a concept of a God watching over everything and making sure it all goes according to His plan.  I do, though, have a sense that even with the pain and suffering that exists in the world, behind it all, everything is stillness and perfection.

 Image

We live on our planet, third from the sun. In the whirling of stars, and asteroids, comets and dust, there is peace in the darkness. 

 

I am born and I will die. The birth of the Universe will continue.

6 thoughts on “Faithfullness

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, please share them with me.

