Is it true?

About a year ago I was introduced to the work of Byron Katie. According to Katie, all the problems of the world arise because we believe our thoughts. Stress occurs when we confuse our thoughts with reality; the world should be this way or that.

From my reading of Katie’s books, watching a few videos and doing my own inquiry I have found the following most useful.

– The Work itself
‘The Work’ is a process of unravelling and inquiry consisting of a Judge Your Neighbour worksheet, four questions and a turnaround. The worksheet is a chance to discover our stressful beliefs. The four questions are:
1. Is it true? (ie. Is it reality?)
2. Can you absolutely know that it’s true?
3. How do you react when you think the thought?
4. Who would you be without the thought?

The turnarounds then, are finding ways in which the opposite statement is as, or more, true.

– ‘Business’
Katie divides the world into ‘my business’, ‘you business’ and ‘God’s business’. This is such a liberating concept. Your thoughts about the world are nothing to do with me. The way things are is reality or ‘God’s business’. I have no business in either if those places. The only thoughts I need to be concerned with are my own.

– everything is projection
We never meet another person without it being filtered through our thoughts. We cannot see anything unless it exists within us. If I see my partner as tired of grumpy, chances are, that thought is coming from me. In my own daily life I like to ask ‘is it true?’ on a regular basis. The answer is usually no.

– everything happens on time and as it’s supposed to
The phrase ‘supposed to’ is difficult to clarify here. I don’t mean a conscious design universe. For example, last night I was waiting for a taxi. I reminded myself that the taxi would arrive exactly on time, I just didn’t know when that was. There was no point stressing about if it was on its way. I simply sat back into myself and watched the greatest show there is: Life happening.

There’s a great website with plenty of videos and DIY worksheets at http://www.thework.com.

I can also wholeheartedly recommend the book ‘Loving What Is’.

One thought on “Is it true?

Was there something in this post that resonated with you? Please share it. Did you see something I missed? Please let me know. I really value feedback and connections. Start typing below.

